IRI Logo
Skip Navigation Links About IRI > IRI Awards > IRI Medal

The IRI Medal

The IRI Medal, established in 1946, recognizes and honors leaders of technology for their outstanding accomplishments in technological innovation which contribute broadly to the development of industry and to the benefit of society.  This award is traditionally presented at the IRI Annual Meeting held each spring. Download Nomination Form.


In IRI's special 75th Anniversary year, the IRI Medal was awarded to two individuals who have had a momentus impact on society through innovation: 

Dr. Robert S. Langer  |  Dr. George M. Whitesides

Read the Press Release.


(Left to right: Dr. Ryan Dirkx, IRI Chairman; Dr. Robert S. Langer, MIT; Dr. Henry Brem, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine)

2013 IRI Medalist Dr. Robert S. Langer, David H. Koch Institute Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Dr. Langer is honored for his outstanding contributions in the field of bioscience, turning discoveries made in the laboratory into a range of drugs and drug delivery systems, transferring scientific discoveries to commercial market, and ultimately improving the health of millions of people worldwide.


(Left to Right, Dr. Ryan Dirkx, IRI Chairman; Dr. George M. Whitesides, Harvard; Norm Augustine, Lockheed Martin, ret.)


2013 IRI Medalist Dr. George, M. Whitesides, Woodford L. and Ann A. Flowers University Professor, Harvard University

Dr. Whitesides is is honored for his exceptional work in nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectroscopy, organometallic chemistry, molecular self-assembly, and nanotechnology, and for the significant impact of his work in biochemistry, materials science, catalysis, and physical organic chemistry that fundamentally changed the paradigm of science.


Recent IRI Medalists

Dr. F. Emil Jacobs, ExxonMobil (2012)

Uma Chowdhry, DuPont (ret.) (2011)
Nicholas M. Donofrio, IBM Fellow Emeritus (2010)

Norman R. Augustine, Lockheed Martin (ret.) (2009)
Ralph Snyderman, Duke University & Proventys, Inc. (2008)
Nabil Y. Sakkab, Procter & Gamble (2007)
David O. Swain, The Boeing Company (2006)
Paul M. Horn, IBM Corporation (2005)
John W. Miley, Milliken and Company (2004)
Lewis S. Edelheit, General Electric (2003)
Charles W. Deneka, Corning, Inc. (2002)