IRI Logo
Skip Navigation Links About > Administration > Board

Officers and Board of Directors

IRI is governed by an elected Board of Directors, operating under a Constitution and By-Laws formulated by the membership. The Board consists of the Chairman, Chairman-Elect, Vice Chairman, immediate Past Chairman, and 12 other directors. Each member of the Board is elected to a three-year term and is not eligible for two consecutive terms. When a person is elected Vice Chairman, that person automatically becomes Chairman-Elect the following year, and Chairman the year after. Two candidates for Vice Chairman and for each opening on the Board are presented to the membership by a Nominating Committee in an annual election.


Chairman: Tom Kavassalis, Xerox Innovation Group.
Chairman-Elect: John B. Hillenbrand, Owens Corning
Vice Chairman: Spencer A. Pugh, Battelle
Past-Chairman: Daniel A. Abramowicz, Crown Holdings, Inc.

Board of Directors


Name Company Term Ending
Sherri L. Bassner      Intertek 2018 
Virginia M. Brandt Energizer 2016
John D. Evans      Lockheed Martin  2016 
Joseph R. Fox Ashland, Inc. 2017
Louis A. Gritzo     FM Global 2018
E. Jefferson Hynds Ingersoll Rand  2016 
K. Andrew Kintz LORD Corporation  2018
Mark Matlock  Archer Daniels Midland 2017 
Richard I. Michelman  Michelman, Inc.  2017 
Karen Milley J.M. Smucker Co. 2017
Anthony D. Nickens Ceramatec 2016
John F. Reid Deere & Company 2016

Media Inquiries

For more information about IRI programs, services, Research-Technology Management Journal, or to arrange an interview with an innovation or Research & Development expert, please contact Michele Taussig, Vice President, Marketing & Communications.

Quick Links

About IRI
Board of Directors
Membership Roster
IRI Position Statement
2014 R&D Trends Survey