IRI Logo
Skip Navigation Links About IRI > Administration
About IRI

Officers and Board of Directors

IRI is governed by an elected Board of Directors, operating under a Constitution and By-Laws formulated by the membership. The Board consists of the Chairman, Chairman-Elect, Vice Chairman, immediate Past Chairman, and 12 other directors. Each member of the Board is elected to a three-year term and is not eligible for two consecutive terms. When a person is elected Vice Chairman, that person automatically becomes Chairman-Elect the following year, and Chairman the year after. Two candidates for Vice Chairman and for each opening on the Board are presented to the membership by a Nominating Committee in an annual election.


Chairman: Martha Collins, Air Products & Chemicals
Chairman-Elect: Daniel Abramowicz, Crown Holdings, Inc
Vice Chairman: Tom Kavassalis, Xerox innovation Group
Past-Chairman: Ryan R. Dirkx, Arkema Inc.

Board of Directors


Name Company Term Ending
Virginia Brandt Energizer 2016
Douglas Coors CoorsTek 2015 
Raymond Cosner  The Boeing Company 2015 
John Evans      Lockheed Martin  2016 
John Hillenbrand, Jr. Owens Corning  2015 
E. Jefferson Hynds Ingersoll Rand  2016 
Max Lewis Sherwin-Williams Company 2014 
Mark Matlock     Archer Daniels  Midland 2014
Daniel Plummer  Sasol North America  2014 
Spencer Pugh Battelle   2016
Robert Slone British Petroleum 2014
Douglas Smith The Timken Company 2015

Media Inquiries

For more information or to arrange an interview with an innovation or Research & Development expert, please contact
Michele Taussig, Vice President, Marketing & Communications at 703.647.2588 or

Additional Information

About IRI
Board of Directors
Membership Roster
IRI Position Statement
2014 R&D Trends Survey
2013 R&D Trends Survey