The IRI Medal

The IRI Medal, established in 1946, recognizes and honors leaders of technology for their outstanding accomplishments in technological innovation which contribute broadly to the development of industry and to the benefit of society.  This award is traditionally presented at the IRI Annual Meeting held each spring. Download Nomination Form.

The 2015 IRI Medal was awarded to Dr. Subra Suresh, President, Carnegie Mellon.

2015 IRI Medalist

(l to r:  Dr. Dan Abramowicz, IRI Chairman; Dr. Subra Suresh, Dr. Steve Hoover, CEO, PARC)

Past IRI Medalists

Dr. Joseph DeSimone, Director, Frank Hawkins Kenan Institute of Private Enterprise; Chancellor's Eminent Professor of Chemistry, UNC (2014)

Dr. George M. Whitesides, Woodford L. and Ann A. Flowers University Professor, Harvard University (2013)

Dr. Robert S. Langer, David H. Koch Institute Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2013)

Dr. F. Emil Jacobs, ExxonMobil (2012)

Uma Chowdhry, DuPont (ret.) (2011)

Nicholas M. Donofrio, IBM Fellow Emeritus (2010)

Norman R. Augustine, Lockheed Martin (ret.) (2009)

Ralph Snyderman, Duke University & Proventys, Inc. (2008)

Nabil Y. Sakkab, Procter & Gamble (2007)

David O. Swain, The Boeing Company (2006)

Paul M. Horn,IBM Corporation (2005)

John W. Miley, Milliken and Company (2004)

Lewis S. Edelheit, General Electric (2003)

Charles W. Deneka, Corning, Inc. (2002)

(Adobe PDF File)

The IRI Medal